New Year, New Filofax

So, as I said yesterday, I bought a new Filofax!  It was totally a spur of the moment thing, I hadn’t planned to do it at all.  I loved my hot pink Apex don’t get me wrong!  What happened was, I popped into Warehouse Stationary because I was parked right in front of it and that’s just what I do when I subconsciously choose to park right in front of Warehouse Stationary.  I picked up a few supplies for my new Project Life album, and thought I’d take a quick scoot through the Filofax section.  Everytime I have been there they all they have had was the Apex in all sizes and colours and the Metropol personal in all colours – that’s it.  But on this particular day they had sitting on the shelf at eye level, one purple Saffiano.  ONE.  Of course I had to own it!

Image

 

I love her so much (yes I just gave my planner a gender.) She is the most perfect shade of purple.

I had also yesterday, printed out some new inserts for 2014 that I had designed.  It was a total fluke that I also bought a new Filofax to put them in.  I do not lie.

So here are a few pics of how I have my Filofax setup.  Anytime you see any random sticky notes, this is just covering my sensitive info.  This is the first time I have showed my Filofax setup in so much depth, so I hope this gives you ideas of how you can setup your own planner.

Image

 

The very first thing you see when you open my planner is my “Capture All” notepad.  I used to use a pad of sticky notes stuck to the inside cover for this, but since my Saffiano came with a Filofax notepad, I decided to use this instead.  I decorated the top of the page with a pretty sticker to brighten up my day and once I have filled this page, I am going to cut the sticker and keep it to use in my Project Life because I am a recycler and every embellishment counts.

Next to that is where I keep my pens.  I have been using the Staedtler Triplus Fineliners since I moved onto the Filofax system.  And I colour-code, so I need to have all my pens with me all the time.  These specific pens are skinny enough to not be too bulky in my planner, but I can only have them at the front, and they are in the clear pocket that came with my Filofax Apex.  I added an inspirational sticker to the front which has been there for a while now.  It says 

The happiness of your life depends on the quality of your thoughts.

Image

Next I have a card holder that came out of an old planner of my Mum’s.  I have put three of my favourite Instax photos in there and I glance at these all the time.  It’s nice to keep my family in my handbag!  I’d like to put another 3 photos on the back side of this page, but it was quite a squeeze to get the photos in as it was, Instax photos are quite thick.

ImageImage

 

Now we have come to the first tabbed section and this is the info section.  I don’t really have all that much here apart from some pages with numerous sticky notes on them, and a bit of info about me (that I haven’t finished filling out yet). I also have Filofax registration page in this section.

ImageImage

 

The next section is my agenda section.  I no longer use the digital/paper system that I last blogged about.  Now I am paper-only so I am using both the month on two pages, and the week on two pages.  I have both of these in my agenda section and the current month and current week are marked with the Today rulers that came with each of my Filofaxes.  (I used to use a Post-it tab to mark the month before I got my second Filofax.)

Here you can see my new layouts that I made and printed.  I have a full 12 month dated calendar, and undated weekly pages. I decided it was easier not to date my pages.  I have made thousands of dated pages twice before and then after a few weeks of using them I made another new layout.

The best part of my new layout is having separate sections for appointments and tasks.  I got this idea from another Filofaxer who uses a stamp on each day for her task list.  The whole reason I changed to a vertical layout last year was because I found I had too much empty space to the right of each day.  Now I am using the right side as a separate list, it not only looks visually neater, but also keeps my tasks separate from my appointments.  I love it.

Image

The next section is my Lists section and this section tends to change depending on what I have upcoming in my life.

First of all there are six cardboard pages with post-its stuck to each one.  The pages are all colour-coded to each aspect of my life the same colours that are in my calendar pages. 

After those pages, I just have normal lined paper.  Then I have Post-It tabs marking each list I have at the moment:

“Books” I have a 3×4 Book cover cutouts of the books I am wanting to read stuck in with bluetak.  They are 3×4 so that when I have finished the book I can pop the cutout into my Project Life folder.  

“House” is a list of things I want to buy for my home. 

“Tessie Wedding” is pages full of post-it notes with different things to do with my best friend’s upcoming wedding.   I am doing hair, makeup and a whole lot of other things, so I made this area to jot down notes and reminders as I need to.  When the wedding is over, I’m just going to bin all the Post-Its and use those pages for something else.

I like that I am reusing the pages in this section so I don’t have to constantly print new pages for one-time lists.

Image

 

The next section is my “Office” section and this holds daily pages for me to use at my office job.  This is system I have been using almost as long as I have worked at my job (over 6 years) and I have incorporated it into my Filofax so that everything is in one place.  Basically I just use a task section and a memo section.  I list all the things I need to do as they crop up throughout the day.  If I am working on something, and have another task given to me, I take a quick second to add it to the list, and then carry on what I am doing. When people call in, I note things down in the memo section and turn them into tasks or jobs for someone else after I have hung up the phone.  This way I always know what day someone rang, or what the persons name was or whatever.  When I have finished a task or processed a memo, I highlight it in bright yellow.  This way I can still see the note underneath, but I know it’s taken care of.  If I leave any tasks for the next day, I draw a red arrow next to them and move the task onto the next day’s list. 

The only thing that’s changed, is I made up some new pages for this section to match the other new pages.

After this section is my Journal section, but I haven’t taken any photos since you can see them all in my 365 Journal posts

Image

The last section is my “Fitness” section.  This is an area to track different aspects of my health and fitness plan.  I am currently using Fitbit to keep fit and walk a certain amount of steps per day.  I’ll possibly do another post on this system in the future.  These pages are also made to match the rest of my new pages and like all other sections in my Filofax, I have pulled out all the ones from last year so that I can start afresh.

Image

 

At the very back of my Filofax, I have three plain, white envelopes that I have hole-punched and added a sticky note to the front.  I have labelled them Receipts, Bills, and Other.  When I put something in there (such as cash for the Kid’s school uniforms) I write it on the front so I can see what’s inside without opening them.  I only keep the receipts of big-ticket items and as most of my bills are paid by Automatic Payment, I only have my car Registration reminder and a bit of cash in the Bills envelope.

Wow this post has taken a long time to write, but it feels good revealing my Filofax setup for the very first time.  Congratulations to those of you that made it to the end.  If you did, write “I read your novel!” in the comments section.  Haha.

Again, Happy New Year to you all!  Thanks for reading my blog and being interested in my rambling.  

Much love
Xx
Em

 

11 thoughts on “New Year, New Filofax

  1. I really like this system of to-do lists. Though I wanted to ask you where you can get one online, and also how do you convince to stick with what you have written down to do everyday. Sometimes, I’ll have written down a time to do certain things in my Iphone Reminders lists, push the time back, and then never do it! lol.

    • I mainly only write down the tasks I am committed to doing on that particular day. Every morning I look at what I have in my month pages and write it on that day in my planner, then I look through my lists and take any tasks I am committed to doing, and put them on that day’s page too. When I have a whole lot to do together and things feel hectic, I take a sticky note and put it on the clear flyleaf I always keep in the middle of my weekly spread and list what I need to do in the order I am going to do it so I have a running plan. For example: in the morning I write down all the things I need to do that day and then go to work till 3. Once I get home and the kids are home from school I make myself a hot drink and sit down and list all the tasks bundled in with all the things the kids need to do. It might look like this:
      Homework
      Kitchen
      Lounge
      Clean Bathroom
      Post letter
      Pick up Milk
      So in this example I would be doing the kids homework with them, then my housework, then leaving to do the errands I need to get done.
      There are sometimes tasks I don’t get done and I push them to another day. But once I’ve pushed them too many times, I decide either to do the task straight away, or just get rid of it altogether.
      As for the list pages themselves, I designed these ones, but you can get stamps right here http://www.studiol2e.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=59&product_id=83

      xx
      Em

  2. Love the weekly pages you made. They’re so simple but cover all the basics. I’m going to have to check into one of those stamps.

  3. Pingback: My Weeks 2014 – Week 1 | my organized mayhem

  4. I can totally relate to what you said about subconsciously parking in front of warehouse stationary and just casually ending up in the FF section… Happens everytime! And I see you like Kikki-k stickys as much as I do too! Lovely

  5. Where haved you buy that filofax?? And need i buy things like stickers and papers and yeah you now what i meen to My filofax?

Leave a Reply

