Getting Things Done

It’s all very well writing myself a list at the start of my day of the tasks I want to achieve that day, but I have been finding that there are a lot of things I am not getting done in the afternoons.  This is mainly because I am trying to juggle normal household routine (kids homework, housework etc) with the random one off tasks I want to do during the afternoon.

So this week I have devised a new plan.

I’ve taken my one and only clear flyleaf, and blu-tacked the photo I normally have clipped to the side of my week to it.  Then under that, I am making use of my awesome star-shaped Post-It’s and putting a blank one there at the beginning of the day.  Then when I get home from work, I can sit down with a coffee and plan my afternoon properly.  This means listing what I want to do in the order of when I want to do it.

IMG_8179

So today, I planned the following order of tasks:
1.Groceries
2.Homework/Put Away Groceries
3.Tidy Kitchen
4.Tidy Lounge
5.Clean Bathroom and Toilet
6.Workout/Kids Swim

I have been writing a list for the afternoon, and a list for the evening, even though the list doesn’t change much once dinner time is done.

Not only have I been finding this additional planning is helpful to me, but it has actually been amazingly helpful for the kids!  Especially my little-miss-six who tends to respond well to structure.

At the end of the day, the list goes in the rubbish leaving me a nice clear space for the next day’s Post-It.

xxx
Em

3 thoughts on “Getting Things Done

  1. I like that you can throw it away and start afresh the next day. There’s something to be said for that, rather than carrying forward things that did not get done! Great plan and I may have to give it a go!

  2. Pingback: My Week #6 | my organized mayhem

Leave a Reply

